Begin Main Content Area

SharePoint User Roles

The management and maintenance of a SharePoint site requires several different types of users with varying levels of responsibility and permission. SharePoint organizes these users into the following groups with their associated abilities: Hierarchy Manager, Agency Setting Manager, and Approver. The workflow of the website can be controlled to meet the business process of the entity maintaining the website.

Hierarchy Manager

A Hierarchy Manager can:

  • Create, Edit, and Delete Pages
  • Add/Modify resources in Document or Picture Libraries
  • Submit changes, which must be approved by an Approver to become published for external site visitors to view
  • Manage Site settings
  • Create/delete sites
  • Manage Lists and override list behaviors - Discard or check in a document which is checked out to another user, and change or override settings which allow users to read/edit only their own items

Agency Settings Manager

Hierarchy Manager can request access to the Agency Settings manager group.  Therefore they can do everything that a Hierarchy Manager can do, plus access the custom settings menu available in the site settings.

  • PA Agency settings
  • PA Subsite Settings


An Approver can:

  • Approve or Reject Pages and Documents
  • Create, Edit, and Delete Pages
  • Add/Modify resources in Document or Picture Libraries
  • Ability to publish

NOTE: Users may have multiple roles. For example, a user can serve as a Hierarchy Manager and an Approver. Users MUST be an Approver to approve (i.e. being in the role of a Hiearchy Manager does not include permission to approve items). The Approve option will make the information accessible on your LIVE/Production Site to your site visitors.​​​​​

For more detailed information visit Microsoft's page on User Roles